Naoko Sakata Trio at the 16th Athens Jazz Festival

The Swedish Institute at Athens has invited the jazz band Naoko Sakata Trio to perform at the

–  16th Athens Technopolis Jazz Festival on Saturday, May 28, at 23.00 hours and
  14th Preveza Jazz Festival on Sunday, May 29

The band consists of Naoko Sakata (piano), Alfred Lorinius (bass) and Johan Birgenius (drums).

Naoko Sakata Trio moves between the composed and the improvised, with intuitive interplay, quick turns and a lot of surprises. In 2008, Japanese born pianist Naoko Sakata moved to Sweden to study at the Academy of Music and Drama at Gothenburg University. Naoko received the «Best soloist prize» in the Young Nordic Jazz Comets 2009 and the Swedish Radio award «Jazz Cat – Newcomer of the year» in 2011. The trio has performed in Scandinavia, Europe, North Africa and Japan. This lineup was constant until the fall of 2013, when Alfred Lorinius joined them, expanding the already vast palette of the trio with a rhythmic flavour that embraces the listener.

Read more:
Naoko Sakata Trio
Athens Technopolis Jazz Festival and
Preveza Jazz Festival and

Culture/ Greece


We use cookies to enhance your online experience.
By browsing our site, you agree to our use of cookies.

Read More